Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Articling with a foreign law degree?
I moved to British Columbia from Ireland in 2018. I have an Irish law degree and I'm having it accredited by the Federation of Law Societies Canada. Depending on how many exams the National Committee on Accreditation direct me to take, I may seek an articling position afterwards. 
I moved to British Columbia from Ireland in 2018. I have an Irish law degree and I'm having it accredited by the Federation of Law Societies Canada. Depending on how many exams the National Committee on Accreditation direct me to take, I may seek an articling position afterwards.
That said, you may be able to find someone who understands what an Irish law degree represents. For example, look at firm websites to see if anyone else took this path, or if anyone went on exchange to an Irish school. If someone has gone to an Irish school, reach out. They may either give you a chance after meeting a few times or give you tips on how to break in (the latter being directed at people who graduated from an Irish school).
I wouldn't think you'd have an especially difficult time compared to your peers. I think part of the stigma of having a foreign law degree is when Canadians obtain one, because it implies you couldn't get into a Canadian law school. If you are foreign and have a degree from your home jurisdiction, that thinking goes away. From the information given, I don't think you're wasting your time at all.